Adventures Wherever He leads.

Shanghai, Hong Kong, and beyond… immeasurably more than all we could ask or imagine

Church Retreat in July August 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — chinabean @ 4:26 am

our CBC retreat focused was focused on expressing ourselves through poetry. it was amazing to see the ways that Daddy had worked through the vulnerability and love of the body. Here is mine that i didnt end up sharing. 🙂

Context:  If you asked me about 2 months ago, what my dream is… it would be to serve overseas in China through teaching. And here, I am having the dream come true, yet scared out of my mind. God has been faithful in my life even before I knew him. He pursued me and brought me to Himself, by grace alone. This poem is a small expression of the complex feelings that are going on in my heart and mind. I am clinging to the truths I know about God rather than the fears I have for the journey ahead. J

Fears to Faith

By Christine Joan Chan

The cross before me, the world a blur

The next step is clear, yet my heart is unsure

Even before I knew You, You had prepared the way

And allowed me to be with You, wherever I stay

When life changes and transitions come,

My expectations and weaknesses all come from

A place in my heart that I must commit

My soul and my life, I unwillingly need to submit

Overwhelmed with emotions and feelings of fear,

I’ve come to a place that I can’t even hear,

That You say “I love you, my child, you are not alone.

I want you to follow because you’re not your own.”

Leaving behind all the comfort and people I love,

I must keep my heart and my eyes on You above.

I’ve been learning it’s not about me and what I can do

But all about You and Your glory to shine through

You alone will take and hold my hand

And will lead and guide me when I think I can’t stand

There is nothing to fear when You are my sight

You alone are sufficient and perfect in might.

 

Leave a Reply

