Adventures Wherever He leads.

Shanghai, Hong Kong, and beyond… immeasurably more than all we could ask or imagine

cultures galore March 15, 2010

Filed under: faith,life in SH — chinabean @ 8:38 am

Being in China, I definitely hit many culture shocks.. including my very own. In the states, I always thought that I was pretty “chinese.” However, coming to China, I realized I’m pretty American. I’m pretty independent, set in my ways, and feel like I have “rights” that are owed to me.  But, I can’t believe it still… no matter how much I try to figure out my identity, I just don’t fit in.

Yet, I’ve begun to grasp that though I have my US passport, our citizenship is in heaven. Paul talks about it. He talks about our citizenship being in heaven.. and E. Elliott talks about it when she said, “Heaven is not here. If it were, our hearts would settle for this life and not the next.” As well in Ecc. it says, “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what Father has done from beginning to end.” oh how beautiful, that is. ^_^

I was thinking about how being in China, I have more caucasian friends than I have in the states, I have more international friends than I do in the states, and I guess that’s expected. I think I’ve been very humbled to see how much I don’t know about other cultures… and how Paul says, that we must become like the jews to win the jews… I guess that takes a lot of learning about what it means to become LIKE a “jew,” whoever the “jew” is in your life.

This post is really about how I am learning so much about other cultures, two cultures in particular. Uyghurs and Indians, mostly through food. Food is a way that culture REALLY comes alive. In the sense that it brings people together and it is a great place to begin learning about a culture.

Uyghurs: First of all, Uyghurs are a Turkic people group that live in XinJiang, the far northwest in China. According to Wikipedia, “Large diasporic communities of Uyghurs exist in the Central Asian countries of Kazakhstan,Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan. Smaller communities are found in Mongolia, Pakistan,Afghanistan, Turkey, Russia and Taoyuan County of Hunan province in south-central Mainland China.” If you want to learn more, click here.

I believe that Uyghur food is one of my favorite delights of SH. With lamb skewers, na’an, and noodles… I confess, I enjoy a glass of beer to go along with this meal, every time… SO delish!


Indian: Now, Indian culture is VERY VERY new to me. I realize I’ve never really had an Indian friend or known much about the culture. But, somehow by His gr8ce, many of my friends are really into Indian culture here in China. I have a coworker who is punjab and a Sikh. A couple of friends and I have learned how to cook some AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS Indian Cuisine. From Chanamasala to Paneer, Indian food has so much delicacies and spices that make replicating Indian cuisine quite difficult. Nonetheless, getting to know my coworker and learning about Indian culture has been quite amazing. I’ve watched some Bollywood movies, thanks to A’s collection, as well as C walking me through the story lines, they have been REALLY enjoyable, a bit cheesy at times, but overall I’ve enjoyed.

Learning to be like the “jews” regardless of how much you know about the “jews…” is so enjoyable…

THANK YOU FATHER for such a blssed life!

nameste!

 

3 Responses to “cultures galore”

  1. Regina Says:

    Christine!! I was laughing when you said you have more Caucasian friends now in China than when you were in the States. A little ironic but funny. The Father has blessed you so much by making you bi-cultural, a gift that makes you a bridge across a wide array of cultures and people groups. I am also very consoled by the fact that our citizenship is in heavens, as the Book of Eph tells us, “Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with the Father’s people and members of His household.” As His people, we receive a new identity in him and as his children, so that we can him our daddy and those who also belong to him our brothers and sisters.

    Love you much, sis 🙂

  2. Jessica Says:

    Hey ladies!! It is so good to hear about what G is doing in your lives…Regina, I’m so thankful for your work as well and so encouraged by you both. Thanks for the reminder! Acacia retreat is this next weekend please rap.

    ❤ Jessica

  3. jen Says:

    SKEEWWWERS!!!!! looove them street side BBQ’s….


Leave a Reply

