Adventures Wherever He leads.

Shanghai, Hong Kong, and beyond… immeasurably more than all we could ask or imagine

Countdown Kinda Gal July 21, 2017

Filed under: faith,life in CA,life in HK — chinabean @ 1:28 am

There’s something about the anticipation of something coming up, whether it’s your birthday when your a kid, an exam as a student, or special holidays, trips or even a big move/transition coming up.

Little kids count the number of sleeps until their next birthday.

Teachers count the days/weeks/minutes until the next holidays or summer holiday.

Future mothers count each week when they’re expecting a baby.

I count down so many things. I have an app called “Days Until” and I absolutely love it. It helps me to count each day until a special event. I usually put in holidays, trips, nephews birthdays, big moves, and pregger friend’s due dates. It helps me to take each day into account and builds up anticipation for what is to come. It helps me to be intentional and recognize that each day is truly a gift.

The other thing that “Days Until” does, is that it gives the time elapsed after it passes. It’s similar to another app, “Time Hop,” which I also love. It helps me to reminiscence and be in awe of how fast time goes by but also how much has happened.

I really like the quote, “We’ve come so far, yet we have still so far to go.” For some reason, it’s motivating as well as humbling and patience developing. All in all, it’s good reminders that we’ve changed and we need to celebrate the fact that we’ve reached these “goals” and also be able to look back and thank God for all He’s brought us through. It serves as an “Ebenezer” in some way.

Today, ONE MONTH. 30 days have elapsed since I got on a plane and left HomeKong for California. It’s been a crazy month of traveling and reconnecting and settling back into the suburbs of CA.

There are many moments I miss HK: the food, the high speed internet, the transportation, the freedom, the church, the people, the community, the list goes on and on. It’s quite true though, because I know I am to be home with family… (for now) I recognize that the missing of Home Kong and it’s people isn’t as hard as it could be.

Having been away for the last 9 years, America isn’t the easiest place to re-enter into, but I’m “doing” it. There are some days, “Wow, AMERICA, you’re amazing…” and there are other “Christine isn’t made for America” days. Anyone who has lived overseas for a significant amount of time and moved back, knows the feeling…

I tell people about the famous tv Netflix series “The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” is the story of my life… except I’ve been stuck in the Asia Bunker of Shanghai and Hong Kong for the last nine years. People laugh, but sometimes, that’s really how I feel… especially in the Silicon Valley and the many apps and techy things, I do not understand.

It’s only been one month, 30 days, and most those days, I’m really grateful to be home… especially being able to get to see and be a part of my cute adorable love bug nephews grow up.

Cheers to the next 30 days… maybe it’ll hit me soon, that I don’t have a return flight to Asia. But for now… Here’s to life in America, the Cali girl that is not so Californian.

 

Leave a Reply

